Alternative Timeline and compare

Is it possible to have an alternative timeline?
I want to be able to compare the timelines, maybe via overlay or else.
I want to be able to switch the alternative timeline on and off.
Is this currently possible or with a workaround to come close?

That depends on how your timelines differ. If they are based on the same calendar, you could try using two arcs to which you assign the events of the alternative timelines.

I have no experience with using arcs. Is there a example to understand this feature.
There is one calendar.
Today I have assigned a tag to the alternative part of the timeline.
With a Filter I can switch it on and off.
What is the difference when I use an arc to filter or is there more to say?

This is how I do it with Aeon Timeline 2:

1. Create two arcs, e.g. “Main timeline” and “Alternate timeline”.
  2. Group the events by arcs in the timeline view.
  3. Create some events in the “Main timeline” arc.
  4. Select the created events and copy them.
  5. Select the copied events and drag them into the “Alternate timeline” area.
  6. Optionally change the color of the “alternate” events.

This is how it looks like:

alternate timelines

If you use Aeon Timeline 3, there may be a similar way. Just consult the Knowledge Base.

Our help document on how to use arcs is here: How To Use Story Arcs - Aeon Timeline 3 Knowledge Base

The “Group by” functionality from version 2 mentioned above is also available, which you can read about here: How to Use the Group By Functionality - Aeon Timeline 3 Knowledge Base

@jess Could I also use the story arcs system/grouped system to use with multiple drafts?