Created a template but it's empty

I created a template from an existing fiction (sci-fi) document that consisted mainly of items in the Narrative (narrative folders) but when I open a new document based on the template, none of the narrative folders I put there (and need) are in the new document. I thought maybe I forgot to check a box, so I did it again, this time checking all of the boxes. Still nothing. The template generates a new document that is empty. Am I doing something wrong? And where are these templates stored anyway? So when I figure it out I can get rid of the bad ones. Thanks.

I’m new to Aeon so don’t have your answer (I’m sure someone more experienced will chime in with an answer), but would a workaround be to “save as” the existing project to another file and then modify it from there?

Sure, but what’s the point of having a template then? One of the nice things about saving it as a template is that it can be stacked right under Fiction selection button and I don’t have to hunt around for it. That’s what I did this morning so I could keep working, but I would like to know what I did wrong.

1 Like

I know it only from Aeon 2, there the purpose of templates is to transfer project settings. This concerns the structure of the calendar, so for example months and weekdays in my own language, custom entities with their properties, custom roles, custom relationships, renamings, coloring and so on. A lot of things can come together if you set up your project carefully.

What cannot be part of templates (there is even no place for that in the file structure) are events and instances of entities, such as persons, or locations.
So it is quite normal to get an empty document first when applying a template. The template saves you from the whole new setup “under the hood”.

If you want to use a prepared structure of elements, it is better to use a ready-made minimal project instead of the template.

1 Like

Ah, ok. Thank you for the answer.